Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Tech Help ? Help With Sony Vegas

pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
23/10/2012 18:08:35

Xpander
Xpander
Posts: 11
Greetings all!

I've been trying to get my first video out but am having a bear of a time with it. I have several clips from Muvizu that I have rendered and am trying to edit them in Sony Vegas Pro Version 12. When I import a Muvizu clip, it plays fine. ONce I move the clip, trim the clip, insert a transition or create a video fade between two clips the clip becomes pizelated. Sometimes the it will correct itself but more time than not, the clip now becomes pixelated at the transition. Also sometimes the clip that is fading in will be totally balnk for a few sconds and then the video will show. I've tried all different types of output formats, I've disabled video acceleration during previewing, i've tried to double render and a bunch of other tricks I've read about on the interwebs. I figured I'm come on here since I can't have ben to only person havnig this issue. My computer specs are prety decent so it doesn't seem like it's a hardware issue, I'm guessing it's more a codec issue. Specs are listed below:

Computer (laptop):

  • 2.3GHz Intel Core i7-3610QM Quad-Core
  • 16GB of DDR3 RAM
  • 1.5TB ExpressCache Hard Drive
  • nVIDIA GeForce GTX 675M Graphics (2GB)
  • Muvizu videos rendered with the following settings:

    1280x 720 hd720
    Xcode Mpeg-codec
    Profile level -Xvid hd 1080
    Single pass
    Target quantizer 4.00
    Anti aliasing checked on
    Using Direct X 9

    Using Muvizu version MZASS-v0.22b - build: 2012.09.11.01R (64-bit) DX9

    In Sony Vegas I have set up my project as HD 1080-24p
    I've tried Pixel format 8 bit and both 32 bit options to no avail.

    I've also checked the option to make the project the same as the imported clips to no avail.

    I've treid rendering in all sorts of methods; as hd-720 with mpeg codec, Hd-1080-24p, Sony avc, Main concept avc Internet 720p & 1080p and nothign seems to work.

    If anyone can give me some help it woul dbe GREEEEATLY appreciated. I'm wondering if I should hcange codecs, but have heard nightmares about changing codecs. I can make movies just fine and render them in Muvizu with the codec, I just can't edit without pixelization. Bummer....
    permalink
    23/10/2012 18:26:03

    urbanlamb
    urbanlamb
    (Account inactive)
    Posts: 1786
    This is kinda outside of muvizu realm but from experience I can tell you that xvid is not a good codec to use.

    I export in an uncompressed format from muvizu I find that any codecs I install really messes up the clips I am working with. Then I tend to only use h264. I have had horrible experience with xvid it just simply is not a good codec unless you pay for their commercial grade package. Just my two cents but since your using sony vegas do they have "blu ray" format? as that uses the h264 codec and it works well
    permalink
    23/10/2012 20:01:00

    Clam
    Clam
    Posts: 51
    I had the same problem--very frustrating! Urbanlamb has the correct answer; export in uncompressed format from Muvizu.
    Tom
    permalink
    23/10/2012 20:22:51

    ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
    ziggy72
    Posts: 1988
    Yup, I use Vegas 11 with Muvizu's iYUV codec and they're just fine - using an uncompressed file always gives you a better result. One question though - why output the project at 1080 when Muvizu can only put out 720? Seems a bit wasteful
    permalink
    23/10/2012 20:46:46

    DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
    Dreeko
    Posts: 1257
    As mentioned in the previous posts, xvid is horrible to edit with as the dreaded pixelmatosis happens. When rendering from muvizu I choose the ffdshow codec and select motion jpeg (mjpeg).

    I only use xvid when rendering out the FINAL edit from sony vegas as the file size is nice and small for youtube..


    cheers
    D
    permalink
    23/10/2012 20:51:12

    urbanlamb
    urbanlamb
    (Account inactive)
    Posts: 1786
    Hehe looks like this is what everyone does

    The uncompressed is really easy to work with then use a codec from your sony package at the end (this really applies to any video editing software you use .. in my case its corel hehe)

    Just remember that if your going for uncompressed that your clips are limited to 1 minute long.
    permalink
    23/10/2012 22:11:28

    Xpander
    Xpander
    Posts: 11
    Good gravy!!! You guys are awesome. It's pretty unreal how helpful this community is. So it looks like uncompressed is the way to go. I guess I'll have some pretty big files though. So is urbanlamb correct that you can only generate uncompressed clips at a maximum length of 1minute? That seems awefully cumbersome. Any workaround on this asdie from being smart with camera shot riiiight around the 1 minute mark ?

    Ziggy - I had read somewhere on a forum that if you increased resolution to a maximum output it would help. Initally the video settings at 720p just like in Muvizu. Then I tried just about everything hoping it would work to no avail. Just wishful thinking on my part.

    Thanks again guys. I just may get my first vid out after all!
    permalink
    23/10/2012 22:20:08

    urbanlamb
    urbanlamb
    (Account inactive)
    Posts: 1786
    haha you can make your 20 minute long movie in muvizu the problem is the uncompressed clips are so huge that anything longer then 1 minute your pc will not want to play it that is why I say 1 minute. Its a "windows pc thing" lol. You can in fact render the entire 20 minute clip from muvizu but your pc will choke on it and says its not recognizable. So the cure is to limit the clip to 1 minute (2 gigs) so i make my clips all 1.99 gigs which is about 1 minute
    edited by urbanlamb on 23/10/2012
    permalink
    23/10/2012 22:43:20

    Xpander
    Xpander
    Posts: 11
    urbanlamb wrote:
    haha you can make your 20 minute long movie in muvizu the problem is the uncompressed clips are so huge that anything longer then 1 minute your pc will not want to play it that is why I say 1 minute. Its a "windows pc thing" lol. You can in fact render the entire 20 minute clip from muvizu but your pc will choke on it and says its not recognizable. So the cure is to limit the clip to 1 minute (2 gigs) so i make my clips all 1.99 gigs which is about 1 minute
    edited by urbanlamb on 23/10/2012



    Aaaaaah.... Now I seeCool Most of my clips are 2-3mins. Looks like it's all about changing camera shots.

    Thanks again!
    permalink
    23/10/2012 22:59:46

    urbanlamb
    urbanlamb
    (Account inactive)
    Posts: 1786
    yes just chop your movie up into 1 minute bits with a little lag time in strategic areas and in your sony vegas edit it together. The other solution is to make your clips lower quality but your first post your